Ask Stash

How do I close my Stash Beginner subscription?

We’ll be sorry to see you go! You can close your subscription at any time online at Stash.com. See below to get started—note that currently, you can only make your close request online at this time. 

Steps for canceling Stash Beginner subscription:

  • Log into Stash.com
  • Click your name
  • Click Subscription
  • Click Close my Stash for good at the bottom of the page
  • At this point, you will be guided through the process of closing your account. A few things to keep in mind:
    • If you choose to cancel your account, all your investments will be sold. Proceeds will be returned to you through your linked external account. 
    • The complete process can take up to 10 business.  You will receive a confirmation email when all the steps to close your account are complete.
    • You will still have access to your money in Stash Bank post-close. You can transfer money out to an external account, or you can use your debit card to make purchases. However, you do lose the ability to add money to Stash Bank. The account will automatically deactivate when the balance is zero post-close. 
    • If you used Stash direct deposit, please make sure you inform your employer about changing direct deposit information at this time.
    • Even after your Stash account is closed, we will notify you by email if you receive a tax document. This email will include a link to access your tax documents on the website.
    • You might be invited to complete a survey regarding your Stash experience. Filling it out will help us gain valuable feedback we can use to improve.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us—and we wish you the very best in achieving your financial goals. 

 

Didn’t find your question?

Shoot us your question and our Stash experts will get back to you.

Submit a question